Mail Newspapers and the NFRN are working together on a new nationwide award to recognise the UK’s most dedicated and innovative independent retail newsagents.

The new scheme recognises a ‘Newsagent of the Month’ in each of the four NFRN regions – Scotland and Northern Ireland, Northern (inc Northern, Yorkshire and North West districts), Midlands (inc East/West Midlands, Wales and Eastern Counties districts), and Southern (inc London, South East and South West districts). All monthly winners will automatically be shortlisted for the national NFRN Newsagent of the Year* title, which is being sponsored by Mail Newspapers.

Newsagent of the Month winners

Some of the winners so far

Andy Law, Mail Newspapers Independents Retail Sales Manager said: “These awards are designed to give some much-deserved recognition to the brilliant work that independent retailers up and down the country are doing to drive newspaper sales.

“The Mail titles continue to outperform on retail sales and independent retailers play a critical role in that success with their day-in-day-out support of newspaper sales and of the promotional activities we run throughout the year. “We’ve seen from previous competitions and promotions that NFRN members are highly innovative and competitive and I’m really excited that we’ll now be formally recognising their outstanding contribution to the category on a monthly basis.”

NFRN News Business Development Manager Phil Williams said: “We’re delighted to partner with Mail Newspapers on this new awards programme and equally pleased that this year the newspaper publisher is sponsoring our national Newsagent of the Year award. “Independent retailers are the news industry’s unsung heroes and deserve recognition for the fantastic work they do to get newspapers into customers’ hands every day of the week.”

*Nominations from October 2017 onwards will be shortlisted for the 2019 NFRN Newsagent of the Year Award.

Nominations are now open for the May award

To nominate yourself or a retailer who you believe should be recognised for their outstanding retailing capabilities, just complete the online form, adding in as much detail as possible to support your nomination. The deadline for nominations for the January award is 4pm on 31 May 2018.

For any queries, please email Phil Williams on



Related content